Live Your Creed by Langston Hughes is one of my favorite poems of all time. (please read when you get a chance)

Live Your Creed
Written by Langston Hughes
I’d rather see a sermon than to hear one any day.
I’d rather one walk with me than just to show the way.
The eye is a better pupil and more willing than the ear.
Advice may be misleading but examples are always clear.
And the very best of teachers are the ones who live their
creed,
For to see good put into action is what everybody needs.
I can soon learn to do it if you let me see it done.
I can watch your hand in motion but your tongue too fast
may run
And the lectures you deliver may be very fine and true
But I’d rather get my lesson by observing what you do.
For I may misunderstand you and the fine advice you give
But there’s no misunderstanding how you act and how
you live.

About Brian K Rice, African American Motivational Speaker and Author, www.briankrice.com

Brian K. Rice is a Motivational Speaker Please visit (www.briankrice.com for more details) "I Just Want Everyone To Succeed"
This entry was posted in Favorite Poems, Spoken Word, Performance Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Live Your Creed by Langston Hughes is one of my favorite poems of all time. (please read when you get a chance)

  1. Rob says:

    This poem was originally done by Edgar A. Guest

  2. 88587 says:

    I encountered this blog on http://briankrice.
    wordpress.com/2012/04/04/live-your-creed-by-langston-hughes-is-one-of-my-favorite-poems-of-all-time-please-read-when-you-get-a-chance/ and if I may I’d like to point out to you some helpful things or ideas. Perhaps you could write your next articles pointing to these ideas. I would like to read more things about what you’re talking about.

  3. I’m lucky that I’ve been able to discover wordpress.

    com: it has the best information necessary for myself.

    You’ve produced an excellent reference point and it’s clear you possess a thorough comprehension of the topic.
    Thanks to your wealth of information, I’ve figured out considerably more about the topic and will be coming back for more.

  4. armein smith says:

    Is it alright if I cite a few of your articles providing I give credit and
    sources back to wordpress.com? My website is on the exact same subject as yours and my visitors could easily benefit from
    some of the info you offer here. Feel free to let me know if this would be fine.
    Cheers

  5. Melvina says:

    Hello just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a few of the pictures aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure why but I think
    its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different web browsers and both show the same outcome.

  6. 1234 says:

    Langston Hughes is the best poet in the world

Leave a Reply

